See you at JavaOne 2009!

February 27, 2009

I just got word that I’ll be talking again at JavaOne 2009. This years talk will be on component-oriented design, which people have asked me about quite a bit about on this blog (you’ll find a few of my responses here, here and here).

In order to whet your appetite, here’s the abstract:

Component-oriented user interface design offers a refreshingly simple take on designing widgets. By hiding details and throwing inheritance out the window, you can create an API that is simple to use and less prone to bugs. Swing hasn’t provided us with the best design model, as it offers deeply hierarchical (and therefore complicated) APIs for getting user interface controls onto the screen. The sheer surface area of the API slows down even the most veteran of developers. Componentized UI design squarely addresses the usability of an API by encouraging small, deliberate APIs that correspond to higher level widget functionality.

In this session, we’ll look at what component-oriented UI design is, how it differs from traditional widget design and how it will simplify your APIs. We’ll apply this technique to the design of two different components to help illustrate the technique. First, we’ll walk through the design of a search/filter component that provides an OS appropriate look on Windows and Mac. Second, we’ll look at how the componetized approach can simplify the design of a Mac style Source List, by hiding the complexities of the underlying JTree implementation.

I’ll post more information here about the talk logistics (session number, room number, etc.) as I get them. Hope to see you there!

5 Responses to “See you at JavaOne 2009!”

  1. Jared Says:

    Congrats – me too! See you there.

  2. Ken Says:

    Fantastic!

    I should point out that Jared (from the comment above) is one of my esteemed colleagues, who in fact, sits in the office next to me. He’ll be doing a talk on Test Driven User Interface design, which I think will be very informative. Interestingly enough, he’s the one that got me going on my component-oriented design kick.


  3. […] Orr has announced that he will be at JavaOne, presenting on the topic of component-oriented design. This will be an interesting talk, given the […]


  4. […] Simply Sweet Components TS-4559 Wednesday, June 3rd, 2009 4:10 pm – 5:10 pm Hall E 135 (read the abstract) […]


  5. […] 7, 2009 Here are the slides for my JavaOne 2009 presentation, Simply Sweet Components, TS-4559 (read the abstract). […]


Leave a comment