Simply Sweet Apps with Glazed Lists (TS-6047)

April 22, 2008

JavaOne 2008 is just around the corner – I’ll be presenting a session (Simply Sweet Apps with Glazed Lists) on one of my favorite open source libraries: Glazed Lists. In an effort to demonstrate the ease with which you can create sortable, filterable tables, I created a couple of demos. Below are the screen shots from one of those demos.

In addition to showing the power of Glazed Lists, I also wanted to highlight that you can in fact write apps in Java that look like native Mac applications. There’s a lot of tweaking involved with getting a really high fidelity app, but I think the result is well worth it. Judge for yourself – let me know what you think about the screen shots below:

`

6 Responses to “Simply Sweet Apps with Glazed Lists (TS-6047)”

  1. Jesse Wilson Says:

    Dude, those apps look totally native! That’s fantastic!

  2. Ken Says:

    Thanks Jesse! I get a web start demo of this up soon.

  3. ranjith Says:

    really sweat!
    .. does it require Java 6 on OS X?
    .. I am having a core duo(32bit) so no apple java 6 for me.. :(

  4. Ken Says:

    Thanks Ranjith! This app requires JDK 1.5.0_13 to run, so it would work for anyone running Tiger.

  5. Felix Says:

    I was just wondering — regarding the first screenshot — whether the scrollbar will also be adaptable to iTunes (not the Aqua-blue, rather the iTunes-dark-gradient-blue).

  6. Ken Says:

    I’m planning on writing a custom ScrollBarUI to do this – I just didn’t have time before JavaOne!


Leave a Reply

